Steering Committee

The NAS LAB Steering Committee will be the primary advisory committee for the planning and development of the Food Sovereignty Lab and Cultural Workshop Space. The committee will: provide guidance and feedback on lab materials, policies, procedures and plans; help to fundraise and assist with grant applications; provide and inform on best practices in food sovereignty, cultural workshops and traditional ecological knowledge, and support or help organize community events and community outreach opportunities. As we prepare for the implementation of this cutting edge lab at Humboldt, we want to do this with the guidance and support of community members, scholars and organizations that can help us to develop informed, decolonized, leading approaches to food sovereignty and traditional ecological knowledge.

2 years for initial project development. July 2020 - July 2022
Schedule for July 2020 - December 2020
Every 1st and 3rd Monday of the month

Schedule for January 2021 - July 2022
Every 1st & 3rd Monday of the month at 12pm PST

Current members of the steering committee:
Dr. Cutcha Risling Baldy (Department Chair, Native American Studies, Humboldt)
Dr. Kaitlin Reed (Assistant Professor, Native American Studies, Humboldt)
Dr. Sarah Ray (Department Chair, Environmental Studies, Humboldt)
Katie Koscielak (Sustainability Analyst, Humboldt)
Carrie Tully (Graduate Student, Environment and Community, Humboldt)
Cody Henrickson (Undergraduate Student, Humboldt)
Evie Ferreira (Humboldt Alumni, Native American Studies & Environmental Studies)
Marlene Dusek (Graduate Student, Environment and Community, Humboldt)
Moxie Alvarnaz (Graduate Student, Environment and Community, Humboldt)
Kim Megois (Undergraduate Student, Humboldt)
Adam Canter (Wiyot Tribe)
Jason Ramos (Blue Lake Rancheria)
Rachel Sundberg (Trinidad Rancheria)
Pennelys Droz (NDN Collective & Sustainable Nations)
Jen Schlaich (Bishop Paiute Tribe)
Jude Marshall (United Indian Health Services, Community Nutrition Manager)
Louisa McCovey (Director of the Yurok Tribe Environmental Program)
Taylor Thompson (Food Sovereignty Division Manager Yurok Tribe Environmantel Program)